Skip to main content

Our Services: @ Western Sydney

Joining the Library

The library service is available for free to all current TAFE NSW students, including those enrolled at OTEN. Your TAFE card is your library card. You may borrow from any TAFE Library in the State.

Borrowing

Western Sydney Libraries have a wide variety of resources available for loan including books, journals and DVDs. You may borrow up to 10 items at a time.

Restrictions may apply to heavily used items.

Items may be renewed twice, as long as the items are not overdue or reserved by another customer. Items can be renewed in person, over the phone or online via the Library Catalogue, My Account tab. Please contact your Library for a PIN.

Interlibrary Loans

Libraries offer a free Interlibrary loan service from other TAFE Libraries. You can request up to two items at a time. Please contact your College Library to make a request. 

Help and advice

Library staff are available for individual and group support, tailored to your specific assignment requirements. We can help you with:

  • Research 
  • Referencing and bibliographies
  • Searching the catalogue
  • Finding statistics
  • Computer and technical support
  • Orientations to the library
  • Assistance with WiFi access
  • USIs
  • ePortfolio and Lynda.com
  • Accessing the Student Portal, TAFE email and updating your password
  • Accessing WSI Online

Contact your College Library for more information.

Printing, Photocopying & Scanning

Printing and photocopying facilities are accessed via TAFECard. All Libraries have reload machines that accept coins and EFTPOS transfers. Printing and photocopying costs are consistent across the Library service. Scanning may be done at no charge. 

Free Internet

You can use our computers or your own device using the TAFENSW wifi. You will need your TAFE username and password for access.

Reciprocal Borrowing

Reciprocal Borrowing allows all Western Sydney students to borrow from the libraries at Western Sydney University Campuses. If you are interested in using the Reciprocal Borrowing service contact your College Library for information on registration and the fee of $50.

Recommending Resources for Purchase

Students are encouraged to recommend resources for purchase. This helps the collection to remain relevant. Forms are available at your College Library.

 

Western Sydney TAFE Libraries specialise in course-related resources to support your delivery, including books, journals, DVDs and online resources.

Borrowing

Borrowed items may be renewed twice, as long as the items are not reserved by another customer.

Special Reserve Collections

All libraries provide a Special Reserve service for high demand items. These items can be placed in a restricted collection at your request.

Interlibrary Loans

Libraries offer a free Interlibrary loan service from other TAFE Libraries. Contact your College Library to make a request. 

Recommending Resources for Purchase

Staff are encouraged to recommend resources for purchase. This helps the collection to remain relevant. Forms are available at your College Library.

Library Tours and Workshops

Western Sydney Libraries offer a range of tours and workshops designed to help your students with their studies. These include:

  • Orientation tours
  • Research skills workshops
  • Using Online Databases
  • Referencing and plagiarism

We can also tailor a session to meet the needs of your students. Please contact your College Library for more information.

Equipment

Equipment including laptops, data projectors and digital cameras are available for staff use. Bookings in advance are suggested. Please contact your College Library for details.

Copyright Advice

Need help with Copyright? Western Sydney Copyright mentors are available in each College Library to answer any questions you may have. We’ve also created an online resource for teachers looking for copyright information, our Copyright LibGuide.

Library Support for Delivery

  • Libguides – online subject guides linking vital digital resources, accessible 24/7 by staff and students
  • Digital resources – eVideos, eBooks, eJournals and Databases
  • Select streaming video resources through Clickview – contact your Library for username and password to access

Reciprocal borrowing

Staff may also join the Western Sydney University Library as a Reciprocal Borrower. Reciprocal Borrowing fees apply ($50), so please contact your College Library for more information.

Western Sydney University Library provides services to Nirimba TAFE students and staff. TAFE students and staff will need to register with the Library. Proof of enrolment or employment must be provided. Borrowing privileges are determined by Western Sydney University Library. Registration is free.

For further information please call Western Sydney University Library Information Central on 02 9852 5353 or visit the Library Website.

The library offers student orientation tours, information searching classes and advanced research skills classes tailored to suit your requirements. Teachers are welcome to contact library staff to book.

The library also offers:

  • Course related resources for both students and teaching staff
  • Binding, laminating, B/W and colour photocopying, printing and scanning facilities
  • Access to WSI online resources
  • Free TAFE Inter-library Loans service for Nirimba staff and students
  • Wi-Fi access

OTEN Students living in NSW

Students currently enrolled in OTEN distance education courses are entitled to join any TAFE NSW library, by providing confirmation of their enrolment. A TAFE card is also required and can be obtained from any TAFE college. Contact your local College for details.

OTEN students who are unable to borrow in person should contact WSIOTENLibraryServices@tafensw.edu.au to discuss alternate borrowing arrangements.

OTEN students living outside NSW

OTEN students currently enrolled in a course may be eligible to participate in the National Reciprocal Borrowing scheme. Please contact WSIOTENLibraryServices@tafensw.edu.au for details.

OTEN Staff

All OTEN staff can contact WSIOTENLibraryServices@tafensw.edu.au to register as a borrower, request Interlibrary loans or suggest resource purchases. Staff can also go to any TAFE NSW Library with proof of employment and identification to register as a library borrower.

 

Loading